Responsible Photography & Hiking

I am taking some time to talk about ethical photography and hiking. I have been wanting to write this for a while but just haven’t had time (hence the lack of updates recently). I was spurred on by seeing a post on Instgram. It was a photo of Falling Springs Falls in Virginia. The photographer and climbed down to the bottom of the falls for the shot and it was being shared on various accounts (the main Virginia Tourism site for one). It irked me. It is illegal to hike to the bottom and fines are involved if caught. Do people get caught? Maybe. Probably not. And maybe they don’t care about the fines but there are reasons some areas are closed off. And by sharing those photos, it encourages others to climb to the bottom.

Now, in all honestly, I have passed a few lines that said, “stay back”. I have certainly hiked off trail but usually where allowed. But when signs say, “This is illegal and you will be fined.” I respect that. Maybe I’m a noob but if all photographers ignored those signs there would be trails where there shouldn’t be and vegetation would start to fade away. I believe in ethical photography. That means respecting laws. It means staying your distance away from animals and wildlife. It means not disturbing nature and following Leave No Trace.

Speaking of Leave No Trace… apparently people are now leaving painted golf balls on trails. It started with painted rocks. Now they have progressed to golf balls. This is from the blog “A Fork in the Road” by Jim Fetig.

This is a big no-no. If you see these, please pack them out. This is from the Appalachian Trail of all places. No rocks, no balls, no painted anything should be left on trails. So many places are being destroyed, we need to be ethical hikers as well and not introduce things that aren’t native to where we are hiking. And no, painted rocks are not native. I have packed out more than one of those. If you want to paint rocks and leave them around your neighborhood, that’s fine. I think that is totally different than Shenandoah National Park.

What do you think? Do you practice responsible hiking, Leave No Trace and ethical photography?

About Jennifer G

Nature lover. Being outside keeps me sane and balanced.

Posted on December 30, 2019, in General Hiking, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I strongly believe in leave no trace. I also try to pick up any litter I see on the trails.

    Like

  2. AMEN! Painted golf balls?? I’m flabbergasted. WTF people. What is so difficult about just going out and enjoying nature as it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t try to practice responsible for hiking. But I have hobbies in this sector. I will maybe try

    Like

Leave a comment